Posted on

Sewing Vintage

A friend requested that I post some pictures of my vintage sewing, and the timing was perfect…I just finished a new skirt for work! This look would work for late 30’s or early 40’s, and is also appropriate for modern work wear.

Here is the shirt:  I used vintage fabric (cotton) to make it, and used the Vogue reproduction pattern V2859, which is from 1935:  

I changed the neckline a little from the original pattern.  Instead of a twisted neck, I wanted a fold down collar, which would have been appropriate at that time too.

For the skirt, I used the vogue reproduction pattern V1019, which is from 1947.  While these two styles are about 10 years apart, this shape was seen in the late 30’s too.  I altered it from the original by making it a bit shorter (just below the knees), by adding a contrasting waistband, and by adding 3 buttons.  The fabric is wool from Max Mara, the waistband is a kimono fabric remnant I picked up in Japan, and the buttons are very special.  They belonged to my Great Aunt Helen, and are from around the same time as the patterns.

and here’s what they look like together:

Sorry if the last two pictures are kind of wonky, it’s really, really hard to take a picture of yourself 🙂  the shirt also looks great with wide leg trousers, by the way. I might have to make a few more!

Enjoy your Saturday!

One response to “Sewing Vintage

  1. me ⋅

    fabulous work!
    fi

Leave a Reply

