Posted on

Comics for Chicks

Ok, I’ve been meaning to write about this for a while, but I’ve recently re-discovered the Amethyst comics, which were my all-time favorite as a kid.  I half expected them to be a disappointment, you know, when you hunt down something you loved from your childhood and then, after reading/watching it again, think “this kinda sucks”.  I am happy to say, however, that the comics still rock and I’m trying to hunt down all of them.

When I was a little girl, Sundays were special because my brother and I got to go to the general store (yes, we had one) and get a bag of swedish fish and one comic book.  I immediately went for Amethyst and Red Sonja because they had actual girl heros that were the actual main characters, and I was completely fed up with Wonder Woman at that point (being the one who always had to play her when the cousins came over and we played Superheros).

Now, even at the ripe age of 7 I realized that flying ponies and a heroine called Amethyst was kind of lame, compared with Batman and The Blue Devil and the like, but the stories were good, and the heroine kicked ass.

Now, of course, storywise Amethyst is no Sandman or Watchmen or Planetary, but if you’re looking for a good, fun, old-school superhero comic, you could do much, much worse.  And maybe Amethyst does appeal more to chicks, but she could hold her own against alot of the guy superheroes, and that’s what counts 🙂  If you manage to find a copy, give it a good unbiased go. I bet you’ll like it, even if you have to bury it behind your Hellblazer comics when your friends come over.

2 responses to “Comics for Chicks

  1. Gary Cohn ⋅

    Hey Jen, I’m really glad that AMETHYST still rocked for you. I miss her…she was a lot of fun to write (and Dark Opal was REALLY fun to write). Now that there are Blue Devil toys (I’m glad you mentioned him, too!), maybe there’s still hope for an Amethyst figure or two. Best–GC

Leave a Reply

