Posted on

Still here, some cookies and a blog

It’s been crazy lately, which is why I haven’t posted, or worked on my new bolero, or cleaned my apartment, for that matter.  Between consulate visits in Frankfurt and avoiding carnival I haven’t done much worth reporting. Also, for any Americans in Rheinland or Hessen, the consulate really does mean no electronics. They don’t have lockers anymore where you can keep your things!

I do want to write a bit about carnival here, which would be a much more exciting party if I didn’t live directly in the middle of it, but I’ll do that tomorrow. Today I’ll leave you with a recipe and an interesting blog I’ve just stumbled across.

The recipe:  Kourambiedes (thanks Kathy!), which are Greek sugar cookies, basically, and which I ate by the kilo when I lived in Greece.

1000 grams of Butter

2 packages of confectioners sugar

2 egg yolks

6 cups of cake flour

1 tsp of baking powder

1 cup of chopped almonds

1 shot of brandy or whiskey

Soften the butter till very soft.  Add 1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar and beat until fluffy and light-colored.  Add the egg yolks and beat.  Sift the cake flour and baking powder into the butter mix.

Toast the almonds for 2-3 minutes and add to the mix, then sprinkle the dough with brandy/whiskey and knead thoroughly.  The dough should not be sticky, but not dry either! Make cookies into half-moon or round shapes and bake on a cookie sheet  until light golden brown.  Take out of oven and cool, then sift the rest of the confectioner’s sugar over them (or put sugar and cookies into a ziploc and shake till they’re coated).  When you’re done, they should look like this:

And the blog: http://hasidic-feminist.blogspot.com/ , which she has just moved to http://exhasid.blogspot.com

I stumbled across it today totally on accident, and have been slowly working my way through ever since. I love teh internets!

Hope you all are having a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

