Posted on

This Message has been brought to you by BEER! foamy malty BEER!

There is nothing that Germans take more seriously than their beer. Not football, not bread, not even rules.  And German beer is awesome, don’t get me wrong, but it is really, really limited.  In the 16th century the Reinheitsgebot was issued, stating: “”Furthermore, we wish to emphasize that in future in all cities, markets and in the country, the only ingredients used for the brewing of beer must be Barley, Hops and Water. Whosoever knowingly disregards or transgresses upon this ordinance, shall be punished by the Court authorities’ confiscating such barrels of beer, without fail.” (complete translation is here ).  This has been amended to add a few other grains, but other than that, they stick to it like a holy document (although it doesn’t stop them from mixing it with all kinds of freakish things like banana juice and coca cola. Don’t get me started).  It also makes finding non-domestic beer somewhat of an adventure, and other than a few big names like Becks, it’s often difficult to find non-regional German beer. What has this all got to do with anything, you might be asking yourself?  Well, I am not a beer purist. From time to time I like to kick back with a Belgian Peche or a Guiness, and I have to truck down to the expensive supermarket and see what they have that particular week.

This weekend I plan on installing myself, my new Stormwatch comics and my beer on my balcony and not moving until Sunday evening, so off I went to Karstadt and found this:

And I would just like to say that I really do hope there is a heaven, so that whoever came up with the idea of brewing beer with whisky malt can go there.  IT RULES.

Leave a Reply

