Posted on

The Reason Why I Have a Life, and Video Games.

I know this isn’t typical fare for my blog, but it’s my blog, so what the hell.  On my way home today I had sort of an epiphany.  You know, since finishing uni I’ve slowly become a total cynic when it comes to “other people” (ok, I’m cynical about a lot of things, but this is a major one).  So on the tram it suddenly came to me just how many other people it took for me to be here, having lived in 4 countries doing a job I love in a country I love.  The list is huge.  From the people who took my moody ass in (sometimes for months at a time) when I had nowhere to go in the States, Greece, and Germany, to the people who forced money, dinner and drinks into my hands when I had no money for groceries in Athens and Cologne, to the people who spontaneously showed up at a frozen bus stop in Slovakia with a thermos of hot chocolate to keep me company while I quietly freaked out about moving here, to the people who woke up at 6 am to chauffeur me around to various visa related places *without complaining* in Germany and Slovakia, to the people who threw work my way and pulled for me to get internships when I was a struggling archaeology student in Athens, to the people who let me crash on couches in Italy and England while I figured out how the whole “responsible traveler” thing worked, I honestly don’t know where I’d be right now.  If honestly even one of these people hadn’t been there for me, encouraging me and helping me, I’d probably be somewhere in the midwest working a minimum wage job and hating everything.  What I DO know is that I probably should have said thank you more often. So, and you know who you are, THANK YOU.  I have an amazing life now in large part due to you.  It means the world to me.  I try to do the same for the friends and children of friends who are now where I used to be, and if I manage to give someone even a fraction of what you all have done for me, I’ll be satisfied.  Also, I should probably lighten the hell up and give humanity the benefit of the doubt every once in a while 🙂

Now, back to our regularly scheduled programming…

Fable 3.  If you haven’t already, go buy it.  It’s everything Fable 2 should have been, and I can’t stop playing it!!!

 

One response to “The Reason Why I Have a Life, and Video Games.

  1. tulpoeid ⋅

    “Like”

Leave a Reply

