Posted on

Roses and Jams

It’s been a while again, I’ve been more active over at my other blog blogging about my hiking adventures on the Jakobsweg.  The weather’s been rainy and cold for the past few weeks, so I decided to make some jam.  I have lots of roses in the garden right now so I decided to use those too.  I decided to try the Gelierzucker (a sugar-pectin mix) for the first time, but I’m not such a fan of it.  I love the process of making jam, it should take a little time and not be done in 3 minutes.  Gelierzucker feels like cheating to me. I chose berries because they’re the easiest, and many already have petin in them.   So if you want to go old school and make your own, here’s what I did, instructions are for normal sugar.

Forest berry and red rose

125 gr. blackberries

125 gr. raspberries

250 gr. strawberries

the petals from one rose (MAKE SURE ITS ORGANIC! normal roses from the shop are covered in chemicals. you don’t want to eat that.)

500 grams of sugar.

put all the ingredients into a pot and stirring constantly bring to a boil.  Let it boil while stirring for about 5 minutes.  Take off of the heat and cover.  Let it sit overnight or about 8 hours.  Then take off the cover, and while stirring bring it back to a boil for 5 to10 minutes, or when the bubbles start to sound “sticky”.  Then take off the heat, put in jars, and flip the jars on their lids for 5 minutes.  done!

 

Blueberry-cherry with red rose

250 g. blueberries

250 g. cherries

the petals of one rose

500 gr. cane sugar

exactly as above.

 

My biggest tip is that when it starts to spit hot jam at you, put the lid on the pot so it’s at a diagonal, top facing you.  You can keep stirring the jam behind it, and it will keep the boiling bits off your face and clothes. 🙂  I’m also planning on trying some of the vintage preserving recipes I posted a while back, and if this weather keeps up I’ll have plenty of time 🙂

2 responses to “Roses and Jams

  1. ree ⋅

    try the vintage!!!!

    • If you want we could make a day of it. I’ve got a ton of preserving recipes from making ketchup to making jams, from 1900’s to the 1930’s and you have a real kitchen. 🙂

Leave a Reply

