Posted on

Herbs, Coiffures and Cupcakes

Sorry I haven’t posted here in a while, I’ve been posting over on my pilgrimage blog lately.

Today is one of the last nice weekends we’ll have before autumn hits, and I decided to use up some of the herbs from my garden to bake some bread.  This is THE best bread recipe EVER, and was devised by a good friend of mine, Nancy.  I’ve made a few adaptations (a handful of fresh herbs rather than 2 tablespoons of dill and only one tablespoon of sugar rather than two), otherwise it’s all hers.

I used red basil, gold oregano, lemon thyme and a bit of hyssop

Herb Batter Bread

3 1/4 c. all purpose flour or bread flour
2 pkgs. (or 4 1/2 tsp.) dry yeast
1 T granulated sugar
1 T dried minced onion
1 handful of fresh herbs
1 tsp. salt
8 oz. plain yogurt
1/2 c. water
1 egg
2 T butter or shortening

In a large bowl combine all dry ingredients, except 2 c. of the flour, and mix well.  In a small sauce pan heat yogurt, water and butter until it’s 120-130 degrees F.  Butter does not need to melt.  Add to dry mixture.  Add egg.  Mix until well moistened, then beat hard for 3 minutes until well blended.  Add enough of remaining flour to get a stiff batter.  Place into greased 1 1/2-2 qt. Casserole or deep pan or heat proof bowl.  Cover and let rise until doubled, approx. 1 hour.  Bake at 375 degrees F for 35-40 minutes until golden brown.  Remove from pan to rack.  Serve warm or cold.  Makes 1 loaf.

not the best looking bread I've made, but it tastes amazing. It's really hard to evenly bake bread in a tiny toaster oven. I'm going to have to make a few more loaves to see if I can figure out a good tactic.

Imade some lemon-garlic butter to eat with the bread, basically, butter, squeeze a bit of lemon juice into it, add some diced garlic, a bit of salt and black pepper.  I also added some hyssop leaves to it, because I have way too many herbs and need to use them!  I’d be more specific with the measurements, but it’s better if you decide based on how sour or garlicy you like things.

I'm going to have this on baked potatoes tomorrow too

Then it was out to meet the fabulous Nina.  We decided to get dressed up and go for cupcakes, so I went with a 50’s vibe.  To do the hair, I roughly followed the directions of the second video here, and for the back I gave it a half twist, pulled it straight to the top and pinned the hell out of it.  It doesn’t take long to do and is pretty simple.  Just do not scrimp on the hairspray if it’s hot and humid like today!  It didn’t stay in place as much as I had hoped.  Here’s how it turned out:

sorry it's off center...it's not easy taking photos of the back of your own head 🙂

and then it was off to Royal Cupcakes

And finally, I was pleasantly surprised to find a bunch of tomatoes had finally ripened!  I definitely need some salad today after all the sugar.

cream sausage, green sausage and black from Tula tomatoes.

And that’s that!  I may finish a vintage skirt I’ve been working on, but then again, I might just lay around and stare at the tv.  A perfect Saturday!

Leave a Reply

