Posted on

Apple Pie a la Toasteroven

 

I do realize my last post was ages ago and also had to do with hair and pastry, but other than work and getting sucked into Fallout New Vegas that’s what I’ve been doing 🙂  I’ll have more vintage sewing and cooking soon, but until then, last weekend I managed to make an amazing apple pie, completely in my toaster oven.  It took MAYBE 5 minutes of prep time and is the perfect size for one person.  This is important, because I’m the kind of person who will eat any amount of pie in front of me, regardles how full I am.

All you need is: two rammikins, flour, butter, a pinch of salt, 1 tbsp. brown cane sugar (or regular sugar, whatever), cinnamon to taste, and an apple.

First:  dice up the  apple, add sugar and sprinkle liberally with cinnamon (I like a lot of it), mix and put in rammikin one.  Put a few small pieces of butter on top.  Bake in the oven (on the highest heat) for about 30 minutes.   (If your apple was too much to fit into the rammikin, just sprinkle it with cinnamon and sugar and wrap it in extra pie crust and bake it separately)

Once the apples are in the oven,  make the crust:  Mix 1 cup flour with 1/8 tsp salt in a bowl.  Cut in 1/3 cup butter till just crumbly.  Stir in 3 tbsp water till just moistened.  Roll it out or just take a ball and press it into the bottom of the 2nd rammikin, making sure it goes up and over the sides a bit.  Bake for 10-15 minutes (just throw it in at the end with the apples).

Then take them both out, pour the apple mix into the pie crust rammikin, and use more pie crust to cover the top, using a fork to stick the edges together.  make a few slits in the top with a knife and bake for 20-30 minutes.  Done!

In other news a friend of mine got married last week and I got vintaged up for it.

I am insanely proud of this barrel roll.

From the front...

If you want to learn how to make a barrel roll, I totally recommend this video (I’ve posted it before but don’t feel like looking for it)

It’s really the best video for beginners I’ve found.

Have a great Sunday!

3 responses to “Apple Pie a la Toasteroven

  1. Roxanne

    Excellent advice on the small serving of pie, I eat whatever is in front of me too.

  2. Pingback: Red Lips « Love.Love.Love.

Leave a Reply

